NHS inducts 13 new members

NHS inducts 13 new members

Elizabeth Hancock, Reporter

The Stephen F. Austin chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) recently inducted 13 new members.

Seniors Judith Moreno, Jeron Conine, Chloe Williams, and Marlen Herrera along with juniors Reade Barber, Aaron Barnett, Suren Bhakta, Rylee Deters, Elizabeth Hancock, Alize Lopez, Jason Pate, Taelon Sorrells, and Sharon Victoria were all inducted. 

“I am elated to have been accepted into the National Honor Society,” Reade Barber said. “I will do my best to represent the pillars that NHS is founded upon. I also hope that by being in the NHS, the college that I want to go to (UT Dallas) will look more seriously at my application.”

Students are chosen by a committee of teachers based upon the four pillars of NHS: scholarship, leadership, character, and service. 

To qualify, students must have a 91 GPA in all core classes and be enrolled in honors level courses and must compete in an academic competition.

The current NHS members are president Gracy Schulte, secretary Macey Brawley, reporter Cordell Fishback, vice president Victoria Lopez, treasurer Vianey Rangel, Sofia Jimenez, Mary Moerman, and Dexter Young.